Pingdom Check
ГлазгоГольф, гэльский язык и виски

Рейсы в Глазго с исландским колоритом

Глазго — это окно в богатый мир шотландской глуши — озер и гор, ветреного побережья и угрюмых замков. В такой очаровательной сельской местности спешить ни к чему. Пабы, музеи и грубоватый юмор Глазго стоят того, чтобы побывать здесь.

Icelandair предлагает ежедневные дешевые рейсы в Глазго, где вас ждут архитектура в стиле модерна и огромные кружки пива в уютных пабах, дегустация виски, культовые поля для гольфа, рыбная ловля и дикая природа.

Прежде чем охотиться на Несси, не желаете ли поискать чудовищ в озерах Исландии? При бронировании перелета в Глазго с Icelandair у вас будет возможность добавить в маршрут промежуточную остановку в Исландии без дополнительной наценки на авиабилеты.

Глазго

Шотландия
Население: 1 200 000 (2017)Зона: 149.9 km²Перевозка: Общественный транспорт в Глазго и его окрестностях координируется компанией SPT. Здесь есть подземное метро, состоящее из 15 станций; железнодорожная сеть соединяется с метро на станции Buchanan Street.Валюта: Sterling PoundПопулярные достопримечательности: West End - Merchant City - East End - Shawlands - City Centre

Музеи, Макинтош и музыка

Глазго и Эдинбург — исторические соперники. В обоих городах есть то, зачем туда стоит ехать. Посетите оба города и влюбитесь в один из них. Эдинбург славится зданием парламента и замком. В Глазго есть музей Келвингроув (Kelvingrove), музей Макинтош, а музыкальная сцена настолько хороша, что город получил звание музыкального города ЮНЕСКО.

Галерея искусств и музей Келвингроув — это знаменитый храм искусств, естествознания и исторических находок (и все это бесплатно!). Чарльз Ренни Макинтош был дизайнером и архитектором, работавшим в стиле модерн в своем родном городе. Познакомьтесь с его прекрасным искусством в Школе искусств Глазго. В поисках иной культуры отправьтесь на один из спортивных стадионов в Глазго, чтобы увидеть страстную преданность местных жителей футбольным командам «Селтик» и «Рейнджеры».

Загадочные блюда и изумительные пабы

Попробуйте традиционную шотландскую кухню (ну, здравствуй, хаггис!) и насладитесь мистическими блюдами с лиричными названиями: суп кок-а-лики, клути и десерт кранахан. Вы будете удивлены высоким качеством кулинарии в Глазго. Многие стильные заведения предлагают посетителям попробовать блюда из свежих качественных продуктов прямиком с ферм, будь то свежие морепродукты или мясо бычков породы Ангус. Самые лучшие места, чтобы подкрепиться, находятся в районе Вест-Энд.

Обязательно посвятите свое время исследованию потрясающей культуры пабов в Глазго по всему городу. Во многих заведениях блюда (от традиционных для пабов блюд до высокой кухни) подаются в качестве дополнения к настоящему элю, пиву из мини-пивоварен и виски. Вдобавок ко всему бессмертный декор, дружелюбные местные жители, байки и иногда живая музыка.

Стильные сувениры и винтажные находки

Глазго пользуется удивительной репутацией в сфере шопинга, ею также пользуются типичные безделушки для туристов (все с тартаном или волынками). Отличным подарком станет виски, тонкие шерстяные изделия или вкусное песочное печенье. Сувениры из Глазго вдохновлены мотивами Чарльза Ренни Макинтоша, а магазины музейных подарков предлагают широкий выбор ассортимента.

В Глазго вы найдете множество винтажных магазинов. На Байрс-роуд в районе Вест-Энд вы найдете несколько хороших магазинчиков, а также уютные маленькие кафе, гастрономы и арт-бутики. Обязательно прогуляйтесь по улицам Рутвен (Ruthven) и Довансайд (Dowanside). Главный торговый сектор города находится на Бьюкенен стрит (Buchanan Street). Торговый центр «Принцес-Сквер» (Princes Square) с 1841 года является изысканным местом для покупок. Инграм стрит (Ingram Street) — это еще одно любимое место туристов.

Pingdom Check

Flights to Glasgow

In August, Icelandair returns to Scotland, offering flights to Glasgow multiple times a week.

Read all you need to know about Icelandair resuming flights to Glasgow this summer, including current restrictions. 

Glasgow is a window on a wide world of Scottish wilderness - think lochs and highlands, windswept coastline, and moody castles. As alluring as the countryside is, don't be in a rush. Glasgow's pubs, museums and thick-accented humor are worth hanging around for.

Glasgow

United Kingdom
Population: 1.2 million (2017)Area: 149.9 km²Transportation: Public transport in and around Glasgow is coordinated by SPT. There is an underground line, the Subway, that serves 15 stations; the train network connects with the Subway at Buchanan Street underground station.Currency: Pound sterlingTrendy Neighborhoods: West End - Merchant City - East End - Shawlands - City Centre

Things to do in Glasgow: Museums, Mackintosh, music

Glasgow and Edinburgh have a historic rivalry - there are points in favor of both cities, so visit both then cast your vote. Let Edinburgh score points with the parliament and the castle - Glasgow has Kelvingrove, Mackintosh and a live music scene so good the city has been recognized as a Unesco City of Music.

Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum is an acclaimed temple of art, natural history and historic finds (and it's free!). Charles Rennie Mackintosh was a designer and architect who left his brilliant art nouveau stamp on his home city - start discovering his fine forms at the Glasgow School of Art. For culture of a different kind, make a pilgrimage to one of Glasgow's sporting stadiums to witness the locals' passionate allegiance to either the Celtic or Rangers football teams.

Eat and drink like a true Scot

You can challenge yourself with some traditional Scottish fare (hello haggis!) and investigate some lyrically named mystery dishes (such as cock-a-leekie soup, clootie dumpling and cranachan), but you may also be surprised by Glasgow's high-quality culinary offerings. Many stylish places offer a farm-to-table experience with prime local ingredients include fresh seafood and Angus beef. The most fertile hunting ground at mealtimes is the West End.

Be sure to dedicate some of your time to investigating Glasgow's brilliant pub culture, found across the city. Many places serve food (from classic pub fare to high-end cuisine) to accompany the real ales, microbrews and whiskies on offer. Plus: timeless decor, friendly locals, tall tales, and sometimes live music too.

Shop for stylish souvenirs and vintage finds

Glasgow has a surprisingly big reputation for shopping - as well as the typical tourist trinkets (anything with tartan/bagpipes), great gift ideas include whiskey, fine woolen items, and edibles like shortbread. Glasgow-specific souvenirs are heavy on Charles Rennie Mackintosh motifs, and museum gift stores offer great browsing.

Vintage stores are big in Glasgow - you'll find some good ones in and around Byres Road in the West End, along with cool little cafes, gourmet stores, and creative boutiques. Be sure to browse in Ruthven and Dowanside Lanes. The city's main retail strip is Buchanan Street, and the Princes Square shopping center is an elegant place (dating from 1841) in which to exercise your credit card. Ingram Street is another firm favorite.

Are the Scottish pound and English pound different currencies?

Pound Sterling is the currency used throughout Great Britain. Although English and Scottish banknotes and coins might look different, they are the same currency.

How long should I spend in Glasgow?

We recommend 2 days to truly get a feel for the city before exploring the rest of what Scotland has to offer.

How much should I tip in Glasgow?

Waiters throughout the UK are paid a fair wage, so tips aren’t essential to their earnings. This said, it’s considered polite to tip around 10-15% when you receive good service in a restaurant.

Book your flight to Glasgow

We look forward to seeing you on board!